General Sittings

General Sittings of the Federal Court for the hearing of motions shall be held, except during the Christmas or summer recess or on a holiday,

  1. at Ottawa, every Wednesday and on any other day fixed by the Chief Justice of the Federal Court;
  2. at Toronto and Vancouver, every Tuesday and on any other day fixed by the Chief Justice of the Federal Court;
  3. in Quebec,
    1. at Montreal, every Tuesday and on any other day fixed by the Chief Justice of the Federal Court
    2. on a day and at any other place fixed by the Chief Justice of the Federal Court
  4. in every province other than Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia, at least once per month, on a day and at a place fixed by the Chief Justice of the Federal Court.

General Sittings dates will no longer be set aside for the Territories, as of January 2015. Should a motion be received, it will be treated as a special sitting as per Rule 35 of the Federal Courts Rules.

Notice is hereby given that a Justice or Prothonotary of the Federal Court will sit in Court, commencing at 9:30 in the forenoon, at the following places and on the dates indicated:

CALGARY

General Sittings for Calgary
CALGARY Before a Justice

Federal Court
635 - 8th Avenue South West
3rd floor
Calgary, Alberta

Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Monday, December 7, 2020

CHARLOTTETOWN

General Sittings for Charlottetown
CHARLOTTETOWN Before a Judge Before a Prothonotary

Federal Court
Sir Henry Louis Davies
Law Courts Building
42 Water Street
Charlottetown, P.E.I.

Thursday, September 10, 2020 Thursday, October 22, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Thursday, December 10, 2020

EDMONTON

General Sittings for Edmonton
EDMONTON Before a Justice

Federal Court
Scotia Place - Tower 1
10060 Jasper Avenue, 5th floor
Edmonton, Alberta

Monday, September 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Monday, December 14, 2020

FREDERICTON

General Sittings for Fredericton
FREDERICTON Before a Justice

Federal Court
Westmorland Place
82 Westmorland Street, Suite 100
Fredericton, New Brunswick

Monday, September 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Monday, December 14, 2020

HALIFAX

General Sittings for Halifax
HALIFAX Before a Justice
Federal Court
Law Courts Building  
1815 Upper Water Street
5th floor
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Thursday, December 17, 2020

MONTRÉAL

General Sittings for Montréal
MONTRÉAL Before a Justice or Prothonotary

Federal Court
30 McGill Street
Montréal, Quebec

Every Tuesday except for:
Tuesday, December 22, 2020
Tuesday, December 29, 2020

OTTAWA

General Sittings for Ottawa
OTTAWA Before a Justice or Prothonotary

Federal Court
Thomas D'Arcy McGee Building
90 Sparks Street,
Ottawa, Ontario

Every Wednesday except for:
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Wednesday, December 23, 2020
Wednesday, December 30, 2020

QUÉBEC

General Sittings for Québec
QUÉBEC Before a Justice

Federal Court
150 René-Lévesque Boulevard E.
Room 150
Québec, Quebec

Thursday, September 3, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Thursday, December 3, 2020

SASKATOON

General Sittings for Saskatoon
SASKATOON Before a Justice

Federal Court
Court of Queen's Bench
520 Spadina Crescent East
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Thursday, September 10, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Thursday, December 10, 2020

ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

General Sittings for St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR Before a Justice

Federal Court
354 Water Street
Suite 209
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Thursday, September 17, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Thursday, December 17, 2020

TORONTO

General Sittings for Toronto
TORONTO Before a Justice or Prothonotary

Federal Court
180 Queen Street West
Toronto, Ontario

Every Tuesday except for:
Tuesday, December 22, 2020
Tuesday, December 29, 2020

VANCOUVER

General Sittings for Vancouver
VANCOUVER Before a Justice or Prothonotary

Federal Court
Pacific Centre
701 Georgia Street West, 3rd floor
Vancouver, B.C.

Every Tuesday except for:
Tuesday, December 22, 2020
Tuesday, December 29, 2020

WINNIPEG

General Sittings for Winnipeg
WINNIPEG Before a Justice

Federal Court
363 Broadway
Room 400
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Monday, September 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Monday, December 14, 2020

DATED AT OTTAWA, this 12th day of May, 2020.

(Signed) Caroline Perrier
Judicial Administrator

Notice is hereby given that a Justice or Prothonotary of the Federal Court will sit in Court, commencing at 9:30 in the forenoon, at the following places and on the dates indicated:

Until further notice, all general sittings will be heard by video conference (or exceptionally by teleconference). Requests to have such matters heard in person will be considered and determined after considering recommendations by public health authorities, the availability of court staff and court officers, and any delays that may occur in reconfiguring the Court’s facilities to ensure that they are safe for all participants. Requests should be made by submitting a letter under Rule 35(2) of the Federal Courts Rules to the Registry via the Court’s e-filing portal. In-person hearings may be scheduled to take place at a later date than the initially scheduled video conference hearing.

CALGARY

General Sittings for Calgary
CALGARY Before a Justice

Federal Court
635 - 8th Avenue South West
3rd floor
Calgary, Alberta

Monday, January 11, 2021
Monday, February 1, 2021
Monday, March 1, 2021
Tuesday, April 6, 2021
Monday, May 3, 2021
Monday, June 7, 2021

CHARLOTTETOWN

General Sittings for Charlottetown
CHARLOTTETOWN Before a Justice Before a Prothonotary

Federal Court
Sir Henry Louis Davies
Law Courts Building
42 Water Street
Charlottetown, P.E.I.

Thursday, January 14, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Thursday, February 11, 2021
Thursday, April 8, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021

EDMONTON

General Sittings for Edmonton
EDMONTON Before a Justice

Federal Court
Scotia Place - Tower 1
10060 Jasper Avenue, 5th floor
Edmonton, Alberta

Monday, January 11, 2021
Monday, February 8, 2021
Monday, March 8, 2021
Monday, April 12, 2021
Monday, May 10, 2021
Monday, June 7, 2021

FREDERICTON

General Sittings for Fredericton
FREDERICTON Before a Justice

Federal Court
Westmorland Place
82 Westmorland Street, Suite 100
Fredericton, New Brunswick

Monday, January 11, 2021
Monday, February 8, 2021
Monday, March 8, 2021
Monday, April 12, 2021
Monday, May 10, 2021
Monday, June 14, 2021

HALIFAX

General Sittings for Halifax
HALIFAX Before a Justice
Federal Court
Law Courts Building  
1815 Upper Water Street
5th floor
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Thursday, January 14, 2021
Thursday, February 11, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021

MONTRÉAL

General Sittings for Montréal
MONTRÉAL Before a Justice or Prothonotary

Federal Court
30 McGill Street
Montréal, Quebec

Every Tuesday except for:
Tuesday, January 5, 2021

OTTAWA

General Sittings for Ottawa
OTTAWA Before a Justice or Prothonotary

Federal Court
Thomas D'Arcy McGee Building
90 Sparks Street,
Ottawa, Ontario

Every Wednesday except for:
Wednesday, January 6, 2021

QUÉBEC

General Sittings for Québec
QUÉBEC Before a Justice

Federal Court
150 René-Lévesque Boulevard E.
Room 150
Québec, Quebec

Thursday, January 14, 2021
Thursday, February 11, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021

SASKATOON

General Sittings for Saskatoon
SASKATOON Before a Justice

Federal Court
Court of Queen's Bench
520 Spadina Crescent East
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Thursday, January 14, 2021
Thursday, February 11, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021

ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

General Sittings for St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR Before a Justice

Federal Court
354 Water Street
Suite 209
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Thursday, January 21, 2021
Thursday, February 18, 2021
Thursday, March 18, 2021
Thursday, April 22, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021

TORONTO

General Sittings for Toronto
TORONTO Before a Justice or Prothonotary

Federal Court
180 Queen Street West
Toronto, Ontario

Every Tuesday except for:
Tuesday, January 5, 2021

VANCOUVER

General Sittings for Vancouver
VANCOUVER Before a Justice or Prothonotary

Federal Court
Pacific Centre
701 Georgia Street West, 3rd floor
Vancouver, B.C.

Every Tuesday except for:
Tuesday, January 5, 2021

WINNIPEG

General Sittings for Winnipeg
WINNIPEG Before a Justice

Federal Court
363 Broadway
Room 400
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Monday, January 18, 2021
Monday, February 15, 2021
Monday, March 15, 2021
Monday, April 19, 2021
Monday, May 17, 2021
Monday, June 21, 2021

DATED AT OTTAWA, this 24nd day of September, 2020.

(Signed) Caroline Perrier
Judicial Administrator

Notice is hereby given that the following days will be set aside for I.T.A. Motions, to be scheduled separately from other motions each month, commencing at 9:30 in the forenoon, at the following place and on the dates indicated:

MONTREAL

General Sittings for Montréal
MONTREAL Before a Prothonotary

Federal Court
30 McGill Street
Montréal, Quebec

Friday, September 25, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Friday, November 27, 2020
Friday, December 18, 2020

DATED AT OTTAWA, this 12th day of May, 2020.

(Signed) Caroline Perrier
Judicial Administrator

Notice is hereby given that the following days will be set aside for I.T.A. Motions, to be scheduled separately from other motions each month, commencing at 9:30 in the forenoon, at the following place and on the dates indicated:

Until further notice, all general sittings will be heard by video conference (or exceptionally by teleconference). Requests to have such matters heard in person will be considered and determined after considering recommendations by public health authorities, the availability of court staff and court officers, and any delays that may occur in reconfiguring the Court’s facilities to ensure that they are safe for all participants. Requests should be made by submitting a letter under Rule 35(2) of the Federal Courts Rules to the Registry via the Court’s e-filing portal. In-person hearings may be scheduled to take place at a later date than the initially scheduled video conference hearing.

General Sittings for Montréal
MONTREAL Before a Prothonotary

Federal Court
30 McGill Street
Montréal, Quebec

2021
Friday, January 29, 2021
Thursday, February 25, 2021
Friday, March 26, 2021
Friday, April 23, 2021
Friday, May 28, 2021
Friday, June 25, 2021

DATED AT OTTAWA, this 24th day of September, 2020.

(Signed) Caroline Perrier
Judicial Administrator

Cancellation of Sittings

General Sittings may be cancelled by the Chief Justice if no notice of a motion to be presented at the Sittings has been filed

  1. in Ottawa, Montreal, Toronto or Vancouver, at least two days before the day of the Sittings; and
  2. in any other place, at least one week before the day of the Sittings.

NOTICE

Attention: Regional Directors General; District Administrators across Canada

Re: General Sittings
Charlottetown, P.E.I.
October 22, 2020

The Chief Justice has indicated that the General Sittings of this Court at Charlottetown, P.E.I., scheduled for October 22, 2020, is cancelled pursuant to Rule 34(2)(b) of the Federal Courts Rules.

Marie Desrosiers
Acting Registrar of the Federal Court

October 15, 2020

NOTICE

Attention: Regional Directors General; District Administrators across Canada

Re: General Sittings
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
November 12, 2020

The Chief Justice has indicated that the General Sittings of this Court at Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, scheduled for November 12, 2020, is cancelled pursuant to Rule 34(2)(b) of the Federal Courts Rules.

Marie Desrosiers
Acting Registrar of the Federal Court

November 5, 2020

Summer recess

General Sittings during the summer recess will be announced by the Chief Justice before June 15 each year.

Hearing dates

Subject to rule 298 and paragraph 385(1)(b), motions that can conveniently be heard at the General Sittings of the Federal Court may be made returnable accordingly.

Special hearing dates

A request may be made informally to the Judicial Administrator for an appointment of a special time and place for sittings of a judge of the Federal Court or of a prothonotary to hear a motion that is likely to be lengthy or a motion to be heard other than at General Sittings.

For more information on hearing dates, please go to the "Notices to the Profession"area of this web site.

This is a Modal Popup Form